new here

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

J

Jennykait

Hello to all of my senior citizen gymnasts out there!
My partner in crime, Gina (GikiGirl) has been encouraging me to join, so here I am.
I've been doing gymnastics since I was about 10 years old. I have competed in compulsory programs, high school gymnastics, and currently, Prep opt. I am 22 years old and when I was 17, I found out I had Cushing's disease, which is caused by a tumor on the pituitary gland, which is located at the base of the brain. I had 5 surgeries related to treatment for the condition from age 17 to 21. Luckily, although I still have many health concerns to deal with and will for the rest of my life, I am in remission from the disease. So, I got back into gymnastics when I was 21 and just intended to do it for fun, but it became rather addicting, and eventually I found myself on my gym's prep-opt team. I have learned that you have to cease the chance to do those things you want to do while you can, as life can change so fast. So, that is the driving force for me doing gymnastics at this point in my life. I intend to continue with competition for as long as my health permits and I find gymnastics to be a rewarding part of my life.
I compete in the advanced division in prep-opt in NH. I would say that the skill level for advanced is pretty comparable to USAG's level 7. I have found prep opt to be really great for my needs. I have been able to pick the skills that I want to do, which allows me to challenge myself, without the rigorous approach that a USAG team program would require.
Anyway, it is nice to meet you all :)
Jenny

Hi Jenny! :) I'm glad Gina convinced you to join! Maybe you'll get addicted like we are. I'll talk to you soon, and keep you posted on what's going on with my back.
-Danielle