WAG Pre team

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hey guys! I am a pre team coach and we do the same thing pretty much every practice. I was wondering if you guys had an drills or stations that you guys do! Thanks!

I don't know if this is exactly what you're looking for, but for pre-team I would focus on building basics rather than skills.

Suggestions:
  • Work A LOT on flexibility, especially with the stiffer kids. It's a lot easier in gymnastics if you're flexible and a lot easier to become flexible when you're younger. The one for splits in this one was SUPER helpful - I would do this as a staple every day until everyone at least has one split down (better for 2)
  • You can also do fun 2 person flexibility stuff - teach the small people how to do it, and it will be fun. Trust me, lol. Like this stuff, but maybe not as extreme! Take advice from the rhythmics , especially people like Elizabet Vasileva, who transferred from rhythmics to artistic gymnastics - their dance skills are PERFECT
    coach-assists-a-young-gymnast-with-her-stretching-at-the-olympic-picture-id635932869
    stretching-extreme-example-l.jpg
  • I'm not sure how much you have for practice, but if you have lots of time, try adding "ballet" in once a week. Once again, look to the rhythmics. A rhythmic gymnast's extension is (usually) better than an artistic gymnast, and one reason is that they do ballet. Doesn't have to be a lot, or even real ballet, but just some basics.
  • For conditioning, if you do it like a race, it's usually more fun. Be VERY strict on form, though. Call out people as much as possible, so they know you're serious about it. Example: Teams of two. One is cardio, one is abs/legs/arms. One does the abs exercise (say 20 V-ups) and then the other has to run and do suicides or something. The first does a different ab exercise and then the second does more suicides or something. Winner gets a prize, and you switch jobs.