Parents Scary to watch ??

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

flygirls2

Proud Parent
Am I the only one who sits in terror during performances or practices where my child(or someone else's) could get hurt? Maybe it's the nurse in me.

I'm guessing it's only the early stages of learning a skill that could be hazardous. Seems like once they learn it, it's just like second nature. Any tips?

I'm a coach and I can't stand to watch, but not in the gym. Where I get freaked is when I'm at a park or playground with my youngest. Usually there's a few parents so engaged in their conversations they don't notice their own child doing the scary stuff. I really can't relax at playgrounds for just that reason.

I never got nervous watching until the back tucks on beam started. Those get me a little bit. The powerful giants also scare me. But she seems so capable.

But good point, iwannacoach, I DO get more nervous watching her and her monkey friends "winging it" at the playground. They are crazy.

Am I the only one who sits in terror during performances or practices where my child(or someone else's) could get hurt? Maybe it's the nurse in me.

I'm guessing it's only the early stages of learning a skill that could be hazardous. Seems like once they learn it, it's just like second nature. Any tips?

Lol as dd has progressed to the upper levels I no longer am comfortable watching any event. It use to be just beam then floor was not as easy to watch then vault and now finally bars. I guess I will spend this meet season praying a lot!