WAG What's your opinion - level progression question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymnast-mac

Gymnast
I've seen a lot of different approaches to moving up, and I was just wondering what everyone thought/the policy/rules at your gym on things such as moving up, staying in a level for another year, and skipping levels.

As far as I know, in our gym, you move up at the end of the current competition season if you have the skills needed for the next level or have the potential to have them/get them between competition seasons.

I have little experience as my DD is only beginning her 3rd year of competition and we've only attended one gym.

Our gym competes girl who are proficient at their level. We go to meets and see some gymnasts throwing some crazy stuff....like BHS where their heads are hitting the floor. That wouldn't happen at our gym. You must have your basic skills consistently.

But we don't sandbag our teams with mandatory repeating for the sake of banners/titles. We have a few girls who will score 37s but most are in the 35 to 36 range consistently. In our state, that is enough to usually place top 3 at state.

We compete starting L2. Occasionally, a girl might skip L2. We had an older pre-teamer who could already kip so she moved to L3.

Our gym's basic philosophy is one level per year. We uptrain enough that most girls have their skills for the next level by the end of summer. Usually, we have maybe 10% of our girls repeat for some reason or another: too afraid of a new skill, illness/injury abbreviated their season, lacking a required element, something like that.

Our girls compete every level. We don't have a "test out level" or a level we tend to skip. Every now and then we have a girl skip a level if she has made a lot of progress quickly and has the necessary skills. This happens to about 2% of our gymnasts.