Parents Advice needed on how to get my daughters spark back!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

balesinks

Coach
Proud Parent
This is my first time posting but I stumbled across this site and thought who better to get advice from then other parents of gymnasts. My daughter competed level 7 this year. It was a pretty rough year for her. She has only been competing for 4 years. She skipped 5. She has been with most of her team mates since then. They are super close. Two days ago she found out that she and one other girl are repeating 7 and all the rest of her friends are moving to 8 (including her two BFF's). No big deal we kind of figured that would happen and were actually hoping that would happen with the year she had. She HATES beam and that series with a back handspring got the best of her. Last night after practice she told be she wanted to quit and that she is not having fun anymore and its to much pressure. The HC's put to much pressure on her to get the new skills. I asked for more insight on why she thought that was. I told her maybe they do that because they know you have it in you? I know my daughter loves gymnastics and I don't truly believe she wants to walk away. Her tears tell me otherwise. She is 13 and hormonal and moods change rapidly. I am at a loss. I have reached out to other parents on the team but since their kids are not going through it they don't get it. I want to be supportive if walking away is really what she wants to do but how do I know that and not some rash decision made off emotions. I offered her to go to Xcel for less pressure and she refuses. I offered looking at other gyms for different coaching styles she refuses. She was working on her back tuck on beam the other day and landed it and was on cloud nine. I am sure this is stemming from the change up of girls moving and her feeling she is left behind. I tried to tell her its only a year then they all going possibly be back together next year. I want her t