Beginner help?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Uglybetty

Proud Parent
My daughter (born 2004) has just been moved from rec gymnastics to the selection only novice group at an elite gym in the uk. She has just turned 9. I'm worried that she is starting competitive gymnastics too late....I see tiny gymnasts doing some very impressive routines....is 9 too late to move to competitive gymnastics? She has been doing rec for about 1.5 years so its not like she's a total beginner.

I have tried to do some research into the grade structure....it's so confusing....can you skip grades? I guess I'm worried that she may do grades out of age and therefore never really "catch up". She'll be doing 9 hours a week (3x 3).

Also where can you find out what skills you need for each grade? So that I can figure out roughly where she is at the moment.

Hi,
The novice structure in the UK varies from region to region, so you are best to ask your daughter's coaches your questions. One I can definitely answer is that 9 is definitely not too old to start.

Novice is a great place to start competitive gym - Slightly more serious than rec, but still lots of fun and not hours and hours in the gym, leaving time for other activities.

Re grades - Have the coaches said anything about working towards grades?
Its best to ask them what your daughter will be competing. Being in or out of age isn't really of any relevance in the grades structure. In fact it is only grade 14 in our region which has in or out of age. 13,12,11 and 10 are all mixed age groups with just a minimum but no maximum age.

Grades 8,7,6 and 5 are from age 10 upwards, so again, mixed ages.

Hope this helps, and good luck to your daughter!

Marie