Welcome to our Gymnastics Discussion Community
554,231 messages... 44,365 topics... and 6,612 members
Join for FREE!
Thank you for supporting our sponsors Energym Music & Norberts & High 5 Meets!

Rings connection rules

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geoffrey Taucer

Former Admin
Gold Membership
Coach
Former Gymnast
Jan 21, 2007
4,079
Baltimore, MD
Country
USA
I have two questions about the rules concerning connection bonus on rings.

The rules say that in order to be elligible for connection, a strength series must ascend.

First question: does this refer only to the final position of the second skill being higher, or does it also apply to how the skill is achieved? For example, if a gymnast were to do a cross (assuming that their cross is achieved with at least a D skill), then drop back to front lever and immediately pull to maltese (a Bhavsar), would that recieve connection?

Second question (and this one may hold more relevance to my own training): does a press from planche to inverted cross count as an ascending skill? The hips rise, but the shoulders drop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.