Tumbling & Tramp Questions

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

About two months ago I started coaching full time, and (somehow) was appointed head coach of the gym's year-old power tumbling team (in addition to my position as a JO WAG coach). As of right now, I have a level 6 and 2 level 5s.
I was an artistic gymnast my whole life, as well as a judge, so the world of T&T is completely new to me. Coaching the technical aspects isn't causing me any problems - I'm a pretty good tumbling coach, if I say so myself. I am, however, at a loss on how to run the team - I've never had this kind of responsibility for a private club team. If anyone could give me some advice/answers, I would forever indebted
1. How is the sport structured on a national/regional basis?
2. How do meets work?
3. How do I find meets to take my kids to?
4. I (and my boss/gym owner) want this program to be much bigger. We're looking at adding a trampoline team, and I want to increase the number of power tumblers. How can I get kids & parents interested in joining? What kinds of athletes should I try to recruit?
5. Are there any especially important & essential progressions/skills/technical aspects?
6. How is it scored - how is start value determined, and what are the major execution deductions?

Thanks in advance for any and all help! As of right now, I don't even know where to begin looking for answers - the USAG website is depressingly unhelpful

1. There are states. Several states to a region. The qualifying meets to Nationals are state and regionals. (does this answer your question at all?)