Parents Advice for overcoming fear

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

First time poster here…My daughter is struggling with the fear of doing giants without a coach by her side. What advice do you give your child on how to get over it? I’ve never done gymnastics so I have no personal experience to pull from. I know she can do it and she knows she can do it but the fear takes over and she stops every time. Thank you!!!

Honestly? I mostly try to stay out of the process on things like this. As they move up and start training the scarier skills (and I think giants qualifies as one of these), I think the mental component is best dealt with like everything else: in the gym, by the coaches.

That said, of course it comes up at home, so I just addressed it like any other life lesson: stay patient, stay focused, keep chipping away at it, the skill will come when it comes so just make sure you're ready... that sort of thing. Sometimes I remind her of past struggles she overcame successfully ("Remember how much you struggled with your cartwheel on beam? You're great at those now!") That sort of thing.

My advice is embrace your role as cheerleader, and leave specific advice to the people whose wisdom and experience you pay for, lol.

Reactions: rd7
My daughter has a similar fear with flyaways. She can do them perfectly but needs a coach standing there to even attempt them. It's helped her tremendously to have privates to address this specific skill so that she doesn't feel the pressure she might feel in regular practice with her teammates watching and trying to get through rotations quickly.

I don't know if your daughter is a young enough age where she will be open to this but mine read this book by the author Melisa Torres who wrote the Perfect Balance Gymnastics series, called Overcoming Mental Blocks. She went through the exercises which she found helpful. You can find it on Amazon.