Comparing ankle support braces, please help?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

So I was contemplating between Swede-O's ankle lok and Aircast's airsport.

Which is better for gymnastics/trampoline? protection-wise, comfort and range of motion?

Thanks.

if you need a brace the best bet is to talk to your Doctor first to make sure that is what you really need. No one should be using bracing etc with out a visit to a doctor to make sure nothing else is going on.

Agreed, GymBee. And, as a bonus, insurance companies may pay for the brace with a prescription from your doctor. I get new swede-o's every year for free :)

I have no experience with anything else, and I'm not a doctor so I would not be able to recommend a brace to anyone--what brace you need depends on your body and injury. Go see your doctor.

In the past I have used the aircast's airsport and while it provides amazing support, it's very heavy and bulky for gymnastics. It would be perfect to wear with a sneaker for most other sports, but while tumbling it weighed me down and I did everything crooked, I couldn't stand with my feet together on the beam, and it was too heavy for bars. I've also used an ASO brace from a doctor which tied up and velcrowed in a figure eight pattern, and that worked well but was kind of itchy so I had to put prewrap under it. I'd recommend seeing a doctor and finding a brace that works for your specific injury/needs though.

@gymnast695 - thanks for the only straight answer here. I actually tried the Airsport and it felt a bit bulky indeed. But what I really didn't like about it, is that it felt a bit loose on my leg - as the fabric is mostly ]stretchy]. So the shop owner gave me the Swede-O to try - and it was really holding my ankle nicely. A lot of people recommend the Airsport over the Swede-O, which is what brought me to ask this question to begin with. I guess I'll go with what fits best.