WAG Disturbing article (IndyStar Article on USA Gymnastics Enabling Sexual Abuse)

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

So here's the thing, in order to file a police report, you need first-hand accounts. If I walked into the police station and said "I'm a gymnastics coach and I think maybe another coach is touching the gymnasts" the police won't be able to do much. If they are able to start an investigation, people involved would need to testify and that could potentially put other coaches jobs at risk, and other gymnasts at risk. I think that is why some of these incidences were not reported to the police. Reporting it anonymously to USAG allows other avenues to be taken.
1. There are child abuse hotlines that the suspicions can be reported to. The Children's Services Agency will take it from there... They will decide when to involve the police.
2. The reports to USAG are not always anonymous... Or else they would not have been able to reply to the reporters. In this age of technology, I could see reports being emailed (as some have been).

The person who suspects the abuse needs to report to CPS or police. How exactly are authorities supposed to investigate if it is only reported to USAG and then USAG reports it? The same people that made the original complaint to USAG would need to be interviewed by authorities, you are simply adding a step....It's not like the police are going to be able to go interview the accused person and they are going to just admit it.... As part of my job I have to regularly report suspicions of abuse and the authorities much prefer to hear it directly rather than from a 3rd party (i.e. student tells a teacher, that teacher reports it not another school official who the teacher then tells.) USAG needs to directly advise anyone who makes a report to them to also make a report to their own local authorities.