Parents Form a maturity issue?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Raquel

Proud Parent
Hi All,

This is my first time posting. My daughter is 6 years old and has been doing gymnastics for two years. She is on a team which is preparing for level 5. She can do all of the skills, however, her form is not great. For example, no matter how many times the coach (or I) remind her to straighten her legs and point her toes during her routine, she just doesn't do it. She only does it if someone is standing in her face telling her to do it as she's doing the move. But then left on her own, she goes back to her bent legs and flexed feet.

I asked her coach if the bent legs were the result of a flexibility issue, and she said they were not. It seems to me like more of a focus issue.

So do you guys think her attention to detail will improve as she gets older, or is she just not a good gymnast?
(I know that she's actually the strongest one on her team, but this doesn't necessarily mean she'll be a good gymnast). The coaches seem to think she's got potential, but she never scored well in her level 4 meets because of the sloppiness. Please share your personal experiences with me.

Thanks!

I've noticed my daughters form has improved SO much this year, she just turned 9. So I think some of its a maturity issue, but then there are some younger little girls that just seem to be born with great form.

It could be a lot of things, here's a short list to get you started....

Gymnastics is fun, so who cares about form (her thinking)

Age and inability to hold a thought in such a stimulating environment

She's not receiving the information she needs, the way she needs it. Many coaches at level 4 and 5 think they can just say the majic words, "keep your legs straight", and it will happen. She may need frequently repeated 30 second tutorials on what her muscles need to do to keep her legs straight, and toes pointed.