Anon Question for proven coaches of level 8-10 gymnasts... how long did it take to become a good 8-10 level coach?

• Thread starter Anonymous (881d)
  • Start date

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A

Anonymous (881d)

Looking for personal growth stories of how a strong 6-7 optional coach took the leap to being a strong 8-10 optional coach? How smooth was the transition? What helped you most to gain the knowledge and ability to progress higher level gymnasts with their skills? If you won't necessarily have a direct mentor to teach you or investment from your existing gym, can you still make the leap alone with solo research and hard work?

I am just getting started climbing the coaching ladder. I work alongside a a coach/judge/program director with 30+ years of experience in the industry. One of her job responsibilities is to train and mentor younger coaches. I am sooooo happy to have her as a resource. What I’ve learned so far is that I need to wait 30 years before I can become a good coach. Challenge accepted 😎

I'm going to start with this...

If you won't necessarily have a direct mentor to teach you or investment from your existing gym

You do not need a direct mentor that is from your gym.

As far as an investment from your existing gym... you must have a gym that is interested in you becoming a high level coach or at least a gym that is interested in high level gymnastics. This means that they must either have high level athletes... or they will allow you to take current low level athletes to that level.

can you still make the leap alone with solo research and hard work?

No... you will need help... networking with other coaches around the area / nation / world will work just fine though. Coaching at camps is an excellent way to meet other coaches and learn.

> Coaching at camps

@JBS , can you elaborate on what types of camps would offer good coaching experience?

> Coaching at camps