Parents Story of your 6yo making team

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I would love to hear everyone’s story about their 6 year old making team. Good and bad. Did they thrive? Did they burn out? Did you have hesitations but let them try anyway?

I was the 6 year old on team. Technically I started training level 4 (more comparable to current level 3) at 5 because my birthday is in August and the team invites happened late spring. I had a great experience - I did level 4 twice because I had a kip but not a strong backhandsprings, level 5, scored out of 6, 7, did 8 twice because vault was so hard for me, 9, and then 1.5 years of 10 before I quit and decided to be a pole vaulter. Not sure what you're looking to know, but overall it was great.

My son started at 6. It was a great experience as his gym took things nice and slow. He moved up as appropriate, and is now a college gymnast :)

My daughter started at five, turned six and began competing. That was 12 years ago. lol! She is still in the sport and committed to college gymnastics. It has been a long road, but she was one who just could never get enough of gym. She is still like that today. She can't get enough. That said, her entire level four team was young- ages 6-7 and Only she and one other are still at it. One is a college gymnast and then my DD. I don't think it was the age or hours though- this sport is just a lot, and its not the "fit" for every kid. Many of her former teammates moved on to successful careers in other sports- diving, track, swimming, cheer, etc, with a lot of them doing it on the D1 level.