Parents moving up from level 4?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to the gymnastics world. My daughter is 8 and competed for the first time last fall, level 4. She made it to state with over a 35 all around score. Since then, she has taught herself a kip and a cartwheel on the beam. Her coaches know that she can do these things. She hasn't mastered the double back handspring, but she also hasn't been working on those in class. Her coaches have told us that they want her backhandspring perfect before moving to the double backhandspring.

My question is that she has worked really hard to teach herself the kip and the cartwheel on the beam at open gym. We just got word that they want her in the level 4 group again in the fall. I think that if she DID compete level 4 in the fall, she would do really well. But I also don't want her bored and know that level 4 is really just a beginning level. Her sister, who is older and at a different gym (long story) didn't score as well at state in level 4, yet has been moved to the level 5/6 group and will compete at least level 5 in the fall.

I'm struggling with which is better for my daughter. Competing level 4 and doing really well, but being somewhat bored/frustrated in class because she's done it before and basically taught herself a kip and can't use it... OR moving her to another gym where she'll have to be in a class with older sister (they don't get along, but it could be managed) and having her compete level 5 but not do as well.

She'll be crushed if the other girls in her class who can't do a kip yet are moved up to level 5 and she's not. We won't know for awhile.

She likes her class and her gym, but I'm not sure if holding her back is the right decision. She would have moved to level 5 at the other gym....

Thoughts? I'm not sure what the best decision here is.
Thanks!