Parents Were you a gymnast?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

RTT2

Proud Parent
I'm pretty new to the whole thing- DD (recently turned 8) just started Xcel Bronze and loves it, but I wasn't a competitive gymnast and most of this stuff is new to me. Spending time at the gym I've begun to wonder if many of the parents were gymnasts themselves. I did some gymnastics as a kid and then spent years as a competitive diver, so I can relate a little, but gymnastics seems like such a world unto itself. Even just doing Bronze DD is working out seven hours a week and is so serious about it- very different from most kids sports at this age. So, as a parent, did you come into this having already been a gymnast yourself?

I was not. I played team sports all through school (basketball, softball). I had zero knowledge when DD started gymnastics and after 5 years, I still don't know a lot, especially names of skills. o_O

Nope. I grew up in a small town that had no gyms and I knew no one that did gymnastics, volleyball and softball was my thing. My DD is working on Level 5 and I still don't alot of the skills names. It really frustrates DD when I have no idea what she is talking about. ;)