WAG how many L7+ are still involved in the sport as adults?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

C

catie

I was wondering how many girls who were L7+ gymnast can still do at least L7 skills at age 25+?

I am talking of all aspects of the sport - strength, flexibility and routines!

I know nobody can really tell, I am just interested in what you think :)

Honestly, I'd say less than 1%. That would include the genetic freaks who are kind of born in shape, and those that continue to work out hard.

I'm 32 and can do harder skills and routines than I could when I graduated high schoo...which I was between level 7 and level 8 then...BUT I work out about 15-20 hours a week and do lots of stretching/pt.

No, I am saying that probably almost all 25 year olds could do what they did in high school as long as they keep fit. Like probably at least 90% of them.

I'm level 9 (and 15). At 25, maybe a kip, cast hs and a Bhc? On beam a few jumps, a cartwheel and a full turn? On vault probably nothing and on floor...fhs, layout and a few back handsprings and a tuck?
At 35, probably nothing

one of our coaches got to level 9 I believe... she'll tumble for us and can do front and back tuck, layout, and can do a full on tumbl trak. another got to level 7 or 8 and she does back tucks for us as well as kips and flyaways. both are between 25 and 30.

Among coaches at least, it seems fairly common for guys to continue training in some capacity after retiring from competition. For girls, not so much.

I have no idea why this is.

I'm 25. I quit gym at 13/14 years old in level 7 (Australia which is different to US). I barely train now and didn't walk into a gymnastics place for over 5 years. The last 6 years I have coached on and off but never trained more than about 2 hours a week if that. When I was competing I could do this: