I also read an article about a guy who decided that for work reasons her wanted to close his accoung, well....the only way he could do it was by going to every place he had ever commented and deleting the posts. It took him forever. You cannot just close your account, be warned.
Well you can just close your account, it just won't delete everything you've ever written off your Facebook because that would be weird. Most stuff is like that. If you close an account on most message boards, it doesn't delete everything you've ever written. However unless someone from work had access to every single page he ever wrote on and knew how to spontaneously find them (it's not like you can hit "wall-to-wall" on a closed account) then I don't know why it would really matter. I just make my account friends only and unsearchable.