Shoulder Flexibility

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Does anyone else have problems with shoulder flexibility?

I have been doing gymnastics for five years and it seems like my skills are never as good as they should be because of my lack of shoulder flexibility. No matter how hard I stretch my shoulders, I still have a shoulder angle. It's so frustrating because it makes it hard for me to keep my arms and legs straight on my backwalkover, frontwalkover, fronthandspring, and backhandspring. Over the last few weeks I have really been working hard to stretch my shoulders, but I don't really see any improvement. I am wondering if maybe I'm not stretching them the right way or something.

Is this a common problem?

What are some good ways for me to stretcrh my shoulders?

Is it possible that I will never get the neccessary shoulder flexibility to be able to do these skills the right way?

Everyone is built differently...some people are more flexible than others. I have always had very poor shoulder flexibility...but I was still able to perform skills. Every little bit of shoulder flexibility helps...so just keep working on it.

Check these threads:

shoulder flexibility - Search Results - The Chalk Bucket

I have the same problem. I don't know if mine are quite as bad as yours but it makes my cast handstand on bars really hard. I can keep my arms straight and don't usually have too bad a shoulder angle but when I need to open my shoulders all the way its really difficult while focusing on doing other things with my body. We do stretch them in our gym but I would love some other stretches I can do at home because I really want to get my cast handstand.