ACRO grades and questions.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi, this is my first time posting here so thank you for taking the time to read this thread.

My DD (age 9) is in an acro group which she has been in for 1.5 years now. She competed for the first time this weekend in the Scottish Championships and won silver medal. She is competing at level 2 but her coach has said she is moving to level 3. I am wondering if anyone can explain these grades to me. My daughter says that level 1 and 2 used to be called Preparation group A and prep group B. I know the grades go up to grade 6 and there is also 11-16, 12-18, 13-19 and out of age. I am confused as some of the kids competing in level 5 were aged around 14. I just can't grasp the correlation between the grades and ages.

I am also curious to know how other kids get into gymnastics. My daughter was spotted at a rec class and asked to go for a 6 week trial with the club, after which she was selected to join them. She train 4 x weekly (12.5 hours). Our fees are only £50 per month. Am I right in saying that is extremely cheap? I spoke to others at the weekend that are paying about £60 per week.

Thanks for taking the time to read. x

I know nothing about acro but welcome. Well done on her silver medal. I would say £50 month is cheap and £60 a week is extortionate!

Thank you very much for the reply Jenny and for the warm welcome. My daughters club does receive a lot of funding from National Lotteries and Sports Scotland and I believe the only club in Scotland that gets this funding. I may be wrong on that however. It works out that we are paying £1 per hour which seems like great value to me. I was just curious after speaking to other parents at the recent competition. x