Activities for the little ones?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

stargazer

Gymnast
I'm going to be teaching a low-key 'gymnastics' class at my local rec centre, and I'd love to hear your ideas on activies, songs and games for the little ones! I am a gymnast and a coach, but have not taught gymnastics to kids this young before (though I do teach swimming to very young kids). The classes are 45 mins long, and the ages will be 15 months-2 years, and then 2-4.5 years (parents must attend as well). There is very basic equipment that has been purchased (the 'beam' is a bench), but what we do have (cheeses, mats, a little bar for hanging, spring board, 'stacked trapezoids' that make a vault, etc) is good quality and perfectly safe. I would really appreciate having an extensive list of songs and games that I could use to keep things interesting over the course of 9 weeks. Thanks :)

P.S. I am very friendly and good with kids, but I don't know if I would be able to do a 'let's all be dinosaurs today and go around the circuit like a dinosaur' type thing.' :rolleyes: Although if you find that works well I suppose I could figure something out.

I think there is a huge difference between a 2.5 year old and a 4.5 year old, so I might consider splitting the class differently. A 4.5 year old deffinately does not need a parent doing in with them. At 2.5 these kids are still babies. I would consider making a 2-3.5 year old class where parents assist and then a 3.5- 5 year old class.