Anon Age groups at competition

• Thread starter Anonymous (e5c8)
  • Start date

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A

Anonymous (e5c8)

I’m fairly new to this world and I have a question. A “would you say something” situation. Or just a rant situation, I guess. My daughter competed yesterday. Her level was split into 5 groups. She is in the youngest group. There were two girls who completely dominated the group. Both from the same gym, medaled in every event and their all around scores were much higher than the next one (third place). My daughter also did well, scored higher than her last competition but placed lower.

I started to wonder if they were at our last competition so I pulled up the results. The last competition had 6 groups within their level and the two girls were two and three age groups higher than my daughter there. I know the cut off for groups can change from one competition to the next but I also know the ages of everyone on my daughter’s team. At both competitions, her team has been split between the youngest two age groups. Two girls in the second youngest and the rest in the youngest group. The two girls from the other gym were not in either of those groups at the last competition but jumped down to the youngest group this time. So it makes it look like they were older than everyone in our group at the last competition but are now younger than two of our girls. Doesn’t seem to make sense.

What would you do? It’s frustrating but I’m inclined to ignore. It doesn’t really make much difference in the compulsory levels does it? They did push my daughter out of the medals on two events and the all around but my daughter doesn’t really care. I should just let it go, right?

Eh, I’d just let it go. Sometimes you win the age group lottery, sometimes you lose. And usually it’s the younger ones scoring higher anyway.