Back Handsprings.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

R

rolliepollie

So I've been doing my back handspring for a couple of months and i injured my right shoulder. So when i do my back handspring i consciously turn towards the left side to avoid pressure on my right side. Basically my arms are turning to the side not directly behind like they should. I already strengthend my right shoulder, but it's just became a habit.:mad:
So any tips? Exercises I can do to fix it?

Please help me try outs are soooooonnnn.:eek:

Try and go back to the beginning, remember what you did you start doing back handsprings. stay on the one drill until it is consistently on both shoulders. You can try doing some back handsprings onto a pile of squishy mats so that you aren't worried about it hurting. Good Luck

We have all been there before with one skill or another. For me its back tucks off beam even now i go crooked cuz i am scared i am going to hit my head

do your hands turn out when you do back walkovers?? maybe you should just keep practicing and like the person above said, do it on a squishy mat. maybe try going from a trampoline (double mini) onto crash mats and get your coach to help you have your hands the right way!

When you do a back handspring try to put most of your pressure on your right side, instead of distributing it evenly, and chances are it'll come out even

You could try setting up a wedge in front of a crashy. You roundoff landing on the end of the wedge and backdive onto your back on the crashy.

This will reinforce going straight back without twisting.

Then do the same but with the backhandspring.

I do this drill because I have found that twisting (not going straight back) is a very common problem when first teaching the backhandspring.