Parents Best Advice

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Flippinmom

Proud Parent
What is the best advice you’ve received or given to a gymnast/family?

Mine was something I actually read here on CB:

Let it be theirs. Their sport, their journey. It’s incredible how often parents at the lower levels inadvertently take the joy out of gymnastics for their kids without realizing how much pressure they’re putting on their gymnast until it goes too far. I’m grateful that I read early on to leave gymnastics at the gym and let it be hers.

Share your best advice!

I know my parents really appreciated being told to think of the sport as more of a marathon than a sprint, right when I first made team. For the majority of people, there's no reason to rush anything and it may end up biting you in the long run. I stayed competitive for 11 years and then pole vaulted in college. It was a great experience and I'm glad I had it.

As a coach, I would give the advice to let your child's coach be their coach. Let them give corrections and figure out their composition. Keep your child safe and well and be their advocate when necessary, but let the coach do their job.

Gymnastics is not a sacrifice, but a choice. Giving your time to feed the poor is a sacrifice; participating in a club sport is not. So don't buy into the narrative that your child is "giving up" going to the mall, hanging with their friends, blah blah blah so they can do gymnastics. This is just one example of how your words will make a difference in how they see themselves and their sport.

My gymnastics coach 20 years ago: "Don't think, just do." (Heavy Romanian accent, of course.)