Coaching Frusturations...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I coach at a tiny tiny tiny gym. We have one floor stip, one tumbling strip. one single bar. one set of duals. 2 high beams, 1 low fat beam, 1 low beam. We have to set up our vault in another gym, and we only get to use it once a week, this is also wher we set up our full floor (no springs-i don't let my girls tumble on it).

I am a level 5 coach, and because of limited space my girls only get 5.5 hours in the gym a week. Lately they've all been struggling on the same things:

Vault
-they are arching off of the vault table, and not blocking enough
-many of them have a slow run
- a few pike on

Bars
-they all have kips, but very few have them with straight arms
-connections are weak
-casts are low
-they have good swings but not when they add the dismount

Beam
-many are afraid of hitting verticle on the handstand
-holding the dismount without arching
-staying tight.

Floor
-slow ro 2 bhs
-fhs need ALOT of work. no block, bad shoulder angles, not arching enough.
-sloppy dive rolls

Overall
TIGHTNESS.

if you have drills or ideas for any of these let me know, this is only my 2nd year coaching level 5. In the past I was a level 4 assistant coach, and I coached preschool-preteam

Make a comprehensive conditioning plan that the girls can do at home, an hour a day 3-5 days a week. Make sure they understand the proper way to do each of the exercises, the proper shapes, and the purpose/goal of each. Make a little chart where the girls or parents initial each time they do their conditioning.You can be tight if you aren't conditioned, and it would be pretty difficult IMO to condition and train 4 events level 5 in 5.5 hrs per week.

^^^yes...I like the the above post twice.