WAG E-mails from parents

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymisforeveryone

Coach
Judge
I have recently got several e-mails from my rec, preteam and team parents. I have never time to talk to the parents because I always have many classes one after another so it's great that parents send me e-mails. I just want to tell you parents that as a coach I really like it when parents let me know if there is something that worries them. It's so much easier when you just ask the coach! I always make my best to use my time answering respectfully and I usually send back long and very thorough answers. That way I can choose my words correctly and without hurrying.

Sometimes the e-mails I get are about parents wondering if their child is behaving well or if they are at right group or team. Sometimes they are about little things like what kind of leotard would fit best at practices or if they are allowed to use sweatpants during warm up. Sometimes they ask about something their child has told about practice... Sometimes they have something not that nice to say but I appreciate that too, because I want to hear that feedback directly from parents, not from anywhere else. That way the problems are usually fixed in no time.

Don't be afraid to ask your child's coach! And when you ask, remember that if you are respectful, the coach will more likely be too.

I don't think kids doing recreational gymnastics should have the coaches email. If they have questions/complements or complaints they can direct the to the Owner/HC/program manager etc..

As a rec coach wouldn't you like to be able to address small issues without having every rec kid run to the owner or head coach? Espeically at a very large gym. The owner won't have any knowledge of your child specifically. I think it's great that you do that gymisforeveryone!