Floor Muisc...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

xxStumpyxx

Proud Parent
I have no experience with the main stream side of competitive gymnastics. My daughter was given floor music for a small competition last year, it is balletic style (slow and floaty) and doesnt suit her at all (more of a fast paced music kind of girl). This music was given to her and another girl.
Would she have to keep this floor music? Would I be over steeping the boundaries by asking the coach about this, we have been given the coaches email and told to email with any questions regarding grades and other aspects of training.

My daughter hates her floor music (not the routine), I feel (righly or wrongly) that they should have music that suits them and they semi like as that would reflect in their "performance"

We had same issue last year, music did not suit DDs style, routine didn't work for her, so she scored a super low score at grades (under 10). DD is powerful so dainty music just didn't work and the judges could see it.

Luckily her coach agreed that it didn't work for her, so she swapped for the rest of last year. There is no harm in asking, because if it doesn't suit their style of gymnastics, then it won't help their scores and they won't enjoy it.

depends on the club, some have a number of set routines and music choices and hand them out and that's your lot. Last 2 routines of Pinks we made up together and chose her music, the coaches couldn't be bothered but didn't mind if we did it. It has now been passed on to someone else in that club.

usually a set routine can be put to differnt music with very little adjustment, if you come up with a cut piece ( no longer than 1.30) (search gymnastic music on youtube) they should be okay with it.