How common is it to repeat L4 and/or L5?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Natasha

Proud Parent
I know it is common to repeat L4 and/or L5. I am working on putting together some information for our parents. Does anyone have approximate % rates for repeating these levels? Or, if your state separates out "new" from "2nd year" competitors, do you know numbers for the groups? Thanks!

I repeated every level a second year, from level 4-7 and i'm gonna have 3 years on level 8. Many of the girls at my gym repeat a year for compulsaries. I liked repeating a year plus I knew that I wasn't going to go elite or anything like that. I know there are mandating scores for second years only and first year girls can move up if the coaches think it will be ok for them and they will do ok. Hope that helped.

I have limited experience, but when DD was a level 4 she was one of three (out of 20 girls) moved up at the end of the season. This past year about half moved up. The coaches have a fairly strict kip rule and that holds a number girls back. As I look back at even earlier years, 40 - 50% seems like a common number for Level 4 move ups at our gym.

At DD's gym, they are pretty strict regarding level 4 repeat. Her HC feels strongly about using the 2nd yr to build their confidence. She did move up 2 of the older girls this year, mainly because they already had their Kip and they were over 10. I will say that DD's gym is not an elite gym, so the coaches do not feel they need to rush the girls through the levels. That being said, they do not usually repeat 5, but have been known to have the girls do 2 seasons of level 6 if needed.

I think the biggest mistake you can make is in the first sentence. You don't want to say "its common to REPEAT level 4".