Parents I'm so tired of DD's injuries!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi All,

You may recall that I have been posting for the last 6 months about all the injuries my DD has had recently. She broke 2 bones in her hand in late March, which took a total of 6 weeks to heal. She then slowly started getting her L7 skills back, but kept having minor problems, like rolling her ankle, etc. Then, in early August, she started suffering from wrist pain, and again was out for about a month. She was finally back 100% this week, when she jammed her finger (doing the same skill as when she broke her hand). It is all purple, and according to the gym, she will need to rest it for 2-4 weeks.

Forgive my vent, but I feel like these injuries are like a plague. She never seems to recover before another injury sets her back. It doesn't help that she is way behind where her teammates are, but can't catch up. Of course, our gym does not allow girls a break in tuition if they are injured, but are expected to come condition for their workout, which averages to 4.25 hours long. She is gettting exhausted from the conditioning, but not getting the skills she needs.

Thanks for letting me vent.

MamaofEnS

That is so tough for her. Hard for her to keep positive. Miserable to see her friends getting all their skills and she can't. However with all the conditioning she should be nice and ready to get some skills when she is ready to train again. Is it possible for her to just go for a couple of hours rather than the whole session.

Hope she is well soon.

Oh no! Your poor dd. That has to be so hard on her and you. How old is your dd and how long has she been doing gymnastics? If she is currently hitting a growth spurt, that could be why she has all the injuries. (((HUGS))) to both of you.