Anon Leo Brand Ambassadors

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A

Anonymous (0e13)

Am I the only one disturbed by some of the images posted by leotard brand ambassadors? Add to that how a lot of these girls and/or their parents post videos tagging their home gym. It would be so easy for an online creep to find out where these girls live. I just find it frightening.

I'm pretty new to gymnastics but I've found it deeply troubling. My elder child is an entirely different sport that has its own plague of "brand ambassadors" on Instagram - I wouldn't let him near any of that - but at least on that one they're mostly just selling hoodies and things. TBQH I've been shocked by the sheer volume of video of little girls in leotards that's Instagrammed by parents, particularly from the USA.

You aren't the only one. Other than a very few brands, most of these are basically scams. And using your child in advertising to get a discount just does not go over well with me. For me its really not about tracking kids (information is in hundreds of other easily accessible places) but simply the concept of dressing your kid up and taking pictures to post publicly to advertise, for usually little more than a discount.

While I personally disagree with it, I do understand the psychology behind it. There is real money to be had via this avenue. Apparently, as a society, we greatly value social media stars. One only has to look so far as the poster child for this sport in this context, Livvy Dunne, or even before that, Whitney Bejerkin (sp?)(even though she is younger than Livvy, she started (her parents) much earlier). Someone with 100k+ followers heading into college with only a moderate amount of success is looking at some non-minuscule money deals. We are talking generational wealth here. So I get it and while I disagree with it and shake my head, I am not going to judge anyone who thinks this is best avenue for them to pursue.