Parents Moving from IGC to USAG Level 2

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymnastics4ever

Proud Parent
Hey everyone - this might sound odd, but in today's competitive culture - is my daughter starting "late" by being 8 years old (turns 9 in October) and starting at Level 2? I am new to this and just got a strange vibe from some Level 2 moms yesterday about how their kids are 7 and younger. I truly do just want what is best for my daughter and try not to care what other people think but I just want to make sure that I am giving her the right opportunity to pursue what she loves. I see other kids her age at Levels 5 and 6 now! Right now she is in an IGC program. Perspective welcome! thank you

Everyone's journey is a bit different and you will get a lot of varying opinions. How does your daughter feel about the move to Level 2 - is she excited? What are her hopes at this point for her gymnastics? What prompted the switch between programs? I would let those questions guide you in this. If she is happy and this is what she wants, then great!