Coaches Need cross training developmental skills and conditioning

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Ordinarily I wouldn't be asking this as I am a developmental coach. However this is a specific case. I usually coach girls, this is for a grown man, an MMA fighter that expressed an interest in gym cross training. He got the idea from another fighter currently cross training and got workout jealousy apparently lol.

I already told him I'm not all about packing muscle on, and he's ok with that. I will be working with a mens team coach, and the goal is to make this fighter quicker and lighter.

I'm looking for anything people are willing to share that involves gymnastics shapes, core strength, agility, and really anything that you find invaluable to a gymnast male or female. I would appreciate it, because I got blind sided with this and would like to be prepared. Nothing is too simple or too complicated, so share it if you're feelin it and I'll be glad for it!

Back when I was coaching high school gymnastics I would get a lot of wrestlers joining gymnastics for the same reason.

Focus on flexibility - particularly neck, shoulder (both bridge and rotator), and hips. They are put in incredibly awkward positions, and the more they know how to move, and not panic, the better off they will be in regards to preventing injury.

For strength, basics are great! Dips, stretching, holds, press handstands, stability on rings, anything that requires their own body weight to promote resistance to the exercise. Their training already makes them strong - your focus should be teaching them how to use the muscle appropriately.

Basic tumbling - rolls, in particular, are good to know - especially when you show them concepts of acceleration through movement.