Coaches New Coach.. Any tips?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Brandon

Coach
Gymnast
So I'm a 16 year old guy, and I've been doing recreational gymnastics for the past 6 years. Recently I got a job offer from my gym. They want me to start 'shadowing' the current coaches this summer and eventually start teaching some of the littler (mom and me, maybe 4-5 year olds) kids. I'm super excited but.. Even more nervous! I tend to be a little socially 'quiet', so I'll need to work on that. But other than that, do you veteran coaches have any advice for a scared coach-to-be?

My advise would be to be confidant around the kids. If they feel like you don't know what your doing then they and their parents will not respect you. Also if you ever have any questions or don't know what to do ask your boss or another good coach in your gym. Have fun and good luck! Coaching is a very rewarding experience!

As much as you possibly can stay positive. Positive reinforcement works WONDERS especially with kids in littler classes. Praise the one who is sitting quietly waiting for directions, give the one who is working hard a high five etc. I know this sounds small, but it changes the atmosphere of the entire class. Have fun, learn as much as you can from your fellow coaches, always ask questions, and enjoy your time coaching!