new gym mom-confussed about rec and team

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

crazygymstermom

Proud Parent
Hi everyone! I'm new to this whole gym mom thing and find the farther my daughter goes the more confussed I get.

Dd (4 yo) started at her gym about 5 months ago. Before that she did a couple sessions at our town rec center. Dd really wants to make a team next season, at our gym they only evaluate for team at the end of the competetive season. Our gym has a pre-level 1 team and then one for each level. We have been pretty much garunteed that she will make a team but she is hoping for level 2 and I am trying to figure out if that is a possibility for her.
Dd will be 5 this summer so she'll just be old enouhg for level 2 next season.
Right now she is taking rec classes 2 days a week. Our gym uses color coded (one color for each level) progression sheets to keep track of their progress. She started out in the preschool class and was only there for a couple months before they decided to move her up. It took about a month to find classes with openings to move her to the level 1 rec classes. She had a private lesson earlier this week (something she wanted) and her coach told us she only has a couple things left to be completed on her level 1 progression sheet and she actually started her and marked off a few things on her level 2 progression sheet at that lesson.
So I guess what I'm wondering is how what level one is is rec compares to what level team they would make.

I would guess that level 1 is level 1. I suppose it's possible that your gym has its own set of "rec" and "team" requirements, but if that was the case, it would make a lot more sense to give the rec levels different names (colors, letters of the alphabet, animal names, whatever) to avoid confusion between the rec and team levels. The level 1 stuff is pretty basic, so it's not too surprising that a kid taking 2x a week classes would be able to check the stuff off fairly quickly.