WAG Question for Coaches

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Mama2JLN

Proud Parent
DD (6) is competing L4 this year. They spent the summer working drills and prepping for ROBHS. A few weeks before the first meet, her coaches determined that she was ready to try without a spot and did well. She competed it at that meet in November with good form. Since the rest of her team is still struggling with this skill, the coaches are still spotting. They are also still spotting DD. in doing so, I think they have undermined her confidence. Now, she wants a spot whereas before, she loved being able to them without a spot. What might be the rationale for still spotting her when she has shown that she is capable of doing them well without a spot? I have not spoken to her coaches about this, but I am hoping to at her next practice. Thanks!

The only reason I can see for spotting when she has it by herself is fixing the form, which you already said was good. So, as a coach, I can't see logic in this. Some kids will move faster than others in this sport. I think everyone should be encouraged to excel at her own pace and never held back. BUT I dont know your daughter or her coaches. The very best thing you can do is talk to them if you have a question/concern.

Coaches often keep spotting in order to reinforce good body shapes, being able to do a RO BHS is not the same as having perfected it. When a coach spots it is because they are trying to get a child to do a skill a certain way. It is very, very normal. It is a very, very good thing. a strong RO BHS is a very, very important skill and done poorly it can impact a gymnasts progression for years. Sounds like you have some great coaches and they may see small things that you do not see that they can fix. BUt feel free to chat with the coaches about it, it is good to know why.