Coaches To Spot or Not- meets

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello everyone! I'm looking for advice for several of my compulsory girls. I coach levels 2-6 at our gym, which happens to be a YMCA. I moved about 4 months ago for my husband's military orders, and I came from a private gym. I have been coaching these girls for the last four months, and about a month ago, our head coach made the decision after some parents complained to move several girls up who are not ready for the next level. It's been tough for some of then to get their skills- they only practice 6 hours a week :)/) We had a non-sanctioned meet and they did fine, minus a few of them on bars. We have a big USAG meet coming up this weekend, but only five of my level four's are attending. Of the five, one does not have her front hip circle on bars. Would you spot her and take the spotting deduction, or would you go ahead and let her try it and fall? Thanks in advance!

I would spot the skill. I've walked out on the floor for a level 5 gymnast who was unsure of his BHS during a competition. With that said though, the way I understand the Men's JO is if you spot, they also get the form deductions as well. If I'm wrong someone correct me though! So if it isn't tight, the way I understand the rule is it might turn into a fall deduction regardless.

let them do it and take the deductions if they miss. not much harm can come to them on a front hip. you never know, they might make it.:)

It depends on the skill.

With a front hip circle, I'd let her try it. Not much risk of injury with that skill, and as dunno said, you never know, she might just make it.