WAG Who Pays for Coach's Education?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

CanAmGymMum

Coach
Proud Parent
Do your team coaches go to regional and national congress? How about other continuing education courses? If so, who pays for these? Does the owner/ head coach, booster club, or other?

Does your booster club have a budget for continuing education for team coaches? If so, how much?

I'm fairly new to the American system, but it would seem to me that one of the components of a successful program should be at least partial parental/booster club financial support of the coach's continuing education endeavors.

I would love to hear how other clubs manage this from both a coach's and parent's perspective (of which I am both :)).

The gym pays for it, but the money comes from the fees the team parents pay each year (we have a yearly team fee)

We do ot currently have team fees but I see them coming next season. This year are helping pay for the compulsory coaches gong to learn the new routines!
Ii think a lot depends on how your gym does things and how much off budget the Boostr Club has.

Our not for profit booster club pays only for the coaches' USAG fee, meet salary, and travel expenses.

Our gym has a separate training budget that they use to train staff. For example, to send coaches to workshops for additional training and also for stuff like the new USAG training to learn the new stuff.

I guess indirectly, we do with our tuition....we are never asked for any extra fees for this, if that's what you're getting at. It all comes out of whatever the gym has for resources. We don't have a booster club (thank God) so not there either..

Booster club...$5,000 to $8,000 per year.

Our booster club is paying this year. The coaches have to ask for what they are needing each time. We rarely refuse, as we actually do very well on our budget.

Our gym pays for it, but where does that money come from? From the tuition parents pay.