Coaches Why choose harder "A" skills over easier "A" skills?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Alex Gold

Coach
I know this is obvious to most coaches, but I'm new to developing Xcel routines and was wondering:

Given that they just need some amount of "A" skills, what is the benefit of adding harder "A" skills if they all count for the same points and the harder skills just have more opportunity to have deductions?

Is it just for personal satisfaction (trying their hardest, not being bored, etc.) or is there score-based reason for that?

A simple example would be doing a back roll instead of a back kickover. Both are non-flight "A" acro skills, but are they worth the exact same points?

(I'm not arguing that we should all do super simple, boring routines; just trying to make sure I understand the system.)

Thanks!

As a coach and judge...
It is not always about doing the 'easiest skill' to score higher.
- Some gymnasts make back kick overs look really pretty - so why wouldn't you show that off
- Some 'harder' skills are easier for some athletes
- Some skills are more progressive to the next skill
- Sometimes as a coach I include a skill that we feel is a weakness, but very important for development to ensure that it gets the attention and effort to improve.

I've had athletes able to do full difficulty within a level, but they maybe are not the greatest competitor so at regular comps they will include some of their more difficult elements and then compete an easier version/strongest skills at their final/championship event for the season.

As a coach and judge...
It is not always about doing the 'easiest skill' to score higher.
- Some gymnasts make back kick overs look really pretty - so why wouldn't you show that off
- Some 'harder' skills are easier for some athletes
- Some skills are more progressive to the next skill