Coaches Front handspring drills for when not allowed to teach front handsprings

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

flyingpig

Coach
Gymnast
Hi guys first post here and I find myself in a tricky situation. I’ve been a gymnastics coach for around a year and a half now, having done gymnastics recreationally as a child. The gym I coach at is mainly a recreational gym with a small competitive program (~25 gymnasts). The competitive program we follow is easier than other programs such as xcel and dp, as for example a kip isn’t even required in level 6. Last year our gym offered levels 2-6 with levels 2-3 being taken by one coach (let’s call her coach B) and levels 4-6 being taken by another (let’s call her coach A) , both of these coaches had over 5 years experience, although coach B had only taught recreational gymnastics before last year. This year coach A moved to another state, and the program decreased to only being levels 2-4. Last year coach A taught coach B how to spot and got her accredited to teach higher levels. This year coach B was meant to take level 4s, while I took the level 3s, and another coach took the level 2s. Unfortunately, she unexpectedly quit after coach A left, so now both coaches who took the competitive teams last year are gone. This left me having to take level 3s and level 4s together this year, and suddenly being the coach taking the highest level at our gym. The problem is I am not qualified to coach any skills with flight, as in the program we use there are 3 levels of coaches and I am only a level 2 when I need to be a level 3 coach to do so. Coach A was a level 3 coach and had trained coach B to be one too, not knowing she would end up leaving. This leaves us having no level 3 coaches at our gym, so I’m stuck in the position where I don’t have a more experienced coach to teach me how to spot. I love gymnastics and watch videos on spotting but am not allowed to try spotting these kids without a level 3 coach helpi