Parents I'm New

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

flgymmom

Proud Parent
Hello everyone !

I'm new to gymnastics and I'm new to Chalkbucket.

My daughters (then 11 and 9) started gymnastic on recreationally 2 years ago and joined our gym's team in July of last year.

They both competed at level 4 in 5 meets last fall and made the FL State Meet so obviously they were thrilled.

My older daughter who is now 12 has taken a break from gymnastics because her workload from school is just too much, she was up till 11pm doing homework after gym and back up at 7am finishing it.

My younger daughter who is 9 is working her little tail off and is actually excelling now that she isn't in her sister's shadow.

I am in a whirlwind of gym talk and truly enjoying it. My daughter had DREAM of the Olympics on day (don't they all lol) so she is pushing hard at moving forward but because of her late start in gym it is hard obviously.

Well, I look forward to reading all your posts and replies and getting some advice from you all !!!

Thanks
Melissa :)

Welcome!! I'm new here too AND new to gymnastics also. I also have a hardworking late-starter. My daughter is 8, soon to be 9. She competed level 3 this year and qualified for state, but our gym doesn't take level 3's to state. We recently(just last week) got the news she'll be moving up to level 4 soon and she's already doing some level 5 skills. She's small/short for age, so no one could ever tell she was one of the older ones on level 3. I feel like she's done great even though she didn't start gymnastics until she was 7. Mine, too, is working her tail off in hopes of the Olympics one day(like you said,...don't they all). Nothing wrong with dreaming big, I say :)