Judging glide swings

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Kiwi

Coach
Proud Parent
Gymnast
Judge
I am a beginner judge, with my first competition next weekend. I would just like some advice about judging glide swings. In steps 1 to 4 (like levels 1 to 4), the bar routine contains two or three glide swings on the low bar.

Can other judges, or coaches, tell me what a good glide swing should look like? How should it start, what should the forward swing look like and what should the back swing look like? What is the difference between a good one and a bad one? What are the common mistakes (i.e. that result in deductions)?

No replies to my question! :( Please, somebody must be able to help me?

I don't know if NZ is still using AUS requirements and manuals but the judging deductions for a glide swing here (according to the National Development Program manual) are

Bent arms = .1/.3/.5
Lack of body tension = .1/.3
No extension at top of glide = .1/.3
feet hitting mat = .5
lack of amplitude in back swing = .1/.3

As a coach I would be looking for the following:
1. chest in when jumping to the bar, feet slightly behind hips
2. when catching the bar their feet should still be behind the bar, chest in, head neutral
3. feet stay low to the floor (i.e. not too piked at the hips), show full extension at the front of the swing
4. feet stay low to floor on return swing, chest in, head neutral
5. hips should rise before jumping off bar / swinging forwards again
6. overall a smooth swinging action with good amplitude

I suggest you get in to the gym and watch some kids at these levels training so you can start to see the differences between good and bad, ge the coaches to talk you through it as well.