Coaches When 2 athletes get injured

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

sofm

Coach
Gymnast
Hi im a newer coach 16 years old, ive been coaching for a year now. Ok here's the story. Yesterday I was coaching power. I was spotting level 2, round off STOP back hand springs. I have them stop before their back hand Springs so that my arms are in the right position for spotting them. The station right next to the one I was spotting was pretty close, and i noticed my athletes were almost hitting eachother. This is when i told my gymnast who i was spotting to wait to do her round off, I then turned to my side to talk to the girl at the station next to us. I told her to step closer to her station so she doesnt get hit. As I was talking to her, the gymnast I told to wait continued to do her backhandspring. As she was in mid air i tried to catch her so she wouldn't fall on her head. I was too late she bonked her head and started crying. I felt soo bad. I still do. She had got an ice pack and came back out later to do more but i felt really bad. Thats not the only thing that happened that day. Later when i was at conditioning, i was spotting a girl climbing a rope when one of my gymnasts started to scream and cry, i had no idea what happened because i had to watch the girl climbing the rope. I the saw the gymnast thumb bleeding so i run to get tissus to stop in. Later i found out she squished her finger under a 3 pound weight. Im now really scared i will get fired. I love coaching and i love the kids. I never want any of them to get hurt. Im a gymnast myself and i know how it feels getting hurt when a coach is there. Im scared another kid will get hurt. Has anyone else had this happen?

Hey!! Don't worry honestly! I'm a general/rec manager and I understand that kids get hurt. If you need help I would recommend reaching out to whoever you need to, but if today was just an odd day then no biggie!