Parents How fast should a gymnast move up levels?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

GymDadTexas

Proud Parent
Hello,

My daughter competed level 3 last year, She will compete level 4 this year 2018. Her coach told me that if she does well as a level 4 she will start to compete as level 7 in 2019. Is this to fast? She has said that she either wants to be an elite gymnast or college gymnast, her coach says this is the path he sees to get her there. I am wondering is this normal? The other girls also did this. Competed one year as 4, then scored out on 5 and 6. The next season they are 7's. I am new to gymnastics and have been looking at progression and this just seems pretty fast. I was wondering what others thought, or experienced.

Hello,

My daughter competed level 3 last year, She will compete level 4 this year 2018. Her coach told me that if she does well as a level 4 she will start to compete as level 7 in 2019. Is this to fast? She has said that she either wants to be an elite gymnast or college gymnast, her coach says this is the path he sees to get her there. I am wondering is this normal? The other girls also did this. Competed one year as 4, then scored out on 5 and 6. The next season they are 7's. I am new to gymnastics and have been looking at progression and this just seems pretty fast. I was wondering what others thought, or experienced.

How old is your daughter?

It is common for gyms to skip level 5 or 6, but it is not common to skip both. In Texas, many girls will compete level 5 in the fall and then compete level 7 in January. Maybe the coach is talking about her competing level 7 beginning in December of 2019? That would be a normal progression.

It depends on many things. Your daughter, the coaching, and all the things that come with gymnastics. Age, maturity, growth, puberty and on and on.
And its possible, its 12-18 months away.

Take a deep breath. They have a plan. A plan is good. And it will happen when it happens