Parents Is she too old?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Leonora

Proud Parent
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I am a mother of a 12 year old. She absolutely loves gymnastics and she is very good. She wants to try a college scholarship when the time comes. The question is, right now she is Xcel Gold, and 12 years old. Will she have enough time to reach the level needed by the time she has to apply for a college scholarship ( that is if no accidents or set backs)? Also, will she need to move on to USAG? If so, do we need to move her from XCel to USAG now? Just trying to plan her path.

Thanks so much for all the info!
Leonora.

Well, you should never say never but she definitely is not on the ideal track. There have been many threads about this topic, I suggest you do a search and settle in for some reading..! :)

In a nutshell, unless you move to JO at a competitive gym *immediately* with a coach who has great connections and REALLY fast tracks her... college scholarship is probably not going to happen. You can still enjoy college gymnastics team in a D3 school for instance if she is still going strong by that time.

As a personal note.... this sport has so much more to offer than the very, very slim possibility of college scholarship. It is quite rare even for the kids who have all the right circumstances from the beginning to get scholarships. I highly discourage parents or gymnasts to see that goal as their “payoff” or whatever.... this sport teaches kids so much more that will follow them through life: perseverance, work ethics, self discipline and often a life long love for physical activity. Enjoy the journey!!

Hi SurpriseGymMom,

Thanks so much for replying. Excuse my ignorance, but what is a D3 school? I still trying to learn and get educated on these things