At what level do trampolinists typically start competing?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Geoffrey Taucer

Staff member
Gold Membership
Coach
Gymnast
In WAG, there are level 1 and 2 routines, but relatively few gyms compete level 1 and 2. Is trampoline the same? Is there a particular level where kids typically start competing? What are the advantages and disadvantages of starting earlier or waiting later?

In Australia they start competing at level 1 in trampoline and tumbling. We have kids as young as 4 competing.

I'm no tramp expert, but it is very rare to see below level 3 trampoline competing at meets in our area.

We have a lot of preschool level 1-3 compete. Usually its kind of stupid. You pay like $100 to watch your 3 year old bounce around and forget what they are doing then they get a medal. I see no advantage to this. Likewise I've seen 15 year olds do level 3 cause that is what they could do. You can't do regionals in my region or Nationals til level 5.

In Australia they start competing at level 1 in trampoline and tumbling. We have kids as young as 4 competing.
Is it different in Queensland? You can't compete in any gymnastics sport under Gymnastics New South Wales rules until the year you turn 6 (ie 6 by the 31st December), so 4 year olds can't compete. I assumed that all of Australia had the same rule?
From what I've seen most are similar age to starting to compete WAG - 6-9.