Parents Best way to find real reviews on local gyms

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

flipflopsalto

Coach
Proud Parent
We may be making a gym switch and I was wondering how any of you had found real reviews. I am not sure if I am bold enough to ask a parent of a gymnast while observing. Also, I don't want a sugar coated version. I am a coach so I know more about the internal workings of our local gyms then most parents and I think it is making my decision harder.

Very difficult to do. I think you really need to think about what your child needs/wants in this sport, and then meet with coaches and listen carefully. If you have friends or someone you know/trust with a child at the other gym, that helps.

Here is an example of why it is hard:

Gym A, if you don't make preteam when you are 5 or 6, door hard to pry open unless your kids appears to be a phenom and fits closely with said gym's "physical ideal" in terms of strength, body type, whatever you are looking for.

You are moving to town and considering Gym A, and want to ask if that gym is appropriate for your 6 year old:

Parent 1 has a Level 10 at Gym A, headed to NCAA in a few years. "This is a fantastics gym. The best one in town. When we switched here four years ago, coaches and kids were really welcoming. The team and girls are fantastic."

Parent 2 child is in Excel at Gym A. "We love this gym. They have the option of Excel with only 6 hours a week. This is perfect for our child who is excels in soccer. We think her gymnastics contributes to her confidence, flexibility, and strength which benefits all areas of her life."

Parent 3 child used to be at Gym A, is now a successful Level 10 somewhere else. Well, Gym A was not a good fit for us. My daughter was not allowed any privates and she went unnoticed there. She has blossomed under coach at Gym B. We are sooo glad we made the switch.