Civil discussion about professionalism, coaches' education, etc

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

LOL Geof

You know if you give a mouse a cookie he's going to want a glass of milk...

Thanks Geoffrey Taucer!

My current thought stream...

A coach takes a child and makes an athlete out of her. Does a coach forget that the child is a child? This is not a fair question. An athlete is another animal. A child that becomes an athlete is a child athlete. The professional coach knows how to coach a child athlete. Not as a child but as an athlete. Its on different terms.

Do we really want coaches to learn how to coach child athletes by trial and error? By what they pick up from the street? By the random experience they get from bouncing around different gyms? By taking in whatever they can on the fly? By the limited and slanted views of the self taught opinionated experts in one sole gym?

Is the accreditation of a coach parental approval?

If teachers in public schools are disillusioned by administrative restraints does that preclude professionalism in the sports arena?

...when USA Gymnastics decides that it wants more revenue then the windfall of inventing requisites that command a price is imminent. Such as if you want to be a coach then you will have to make an investment in your future. Its just like going to college where tuition is money. Education is money. Paying fees to move from one gymnastics program to another is money. Paying to take tests is money. Its a bank waiting to be owned. Its a lottery USA Gymnastics has won but not redeemed. Its coming. If not under professional auspices then out of pure greed. Its a wonder it hasn't happened already. Multiply 10,000 coaches each times 1000 dollars in required test fees and USA Gymnastics will be 10,000,000 ten million dollars richer tomorrow.