WAG Drills I can do at home?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I was wondering about how to get certain skills at home. There are severall skills I really want to be able to do, including aerials and a RBH. Recently, I posted asking for tips on these sklls. The main response was condtioning and drilling. However, no one gave me specific drills to do. So I decided to post asking specifically for drills to get my aerial and RBH. If any of you have tips or drils for these skills, or a video or article that you found helpful, I would appreciate hearing about them. Also, if you know any other skills I would need for xcel gold that I can drill for at home an have any tips for that, I would like to hear it. Thank you.

As a now former coach, I do not recommend doing most drills at home. That should be something done at practice with your coach in building skill progressions. Skill based shaping and conditioning, and stretching, yes. Please ask your coach what they feel comfortable with you doing at home. I regularly made it a point to tell my athletes what specific things we were doing at practice that they could be doing at home as well. When I was a gymnast, my coach's policy was that we couldn't work any skills at home that we couldn't do on high beam. It held us to our very mastered basics...and sometimes encouraged us to get braver on beam 🤣

In all honestly there are many fantastic drills out there easy to find for any coach/athlete. Often you see these same drills being done very poorly in gyms because what matters is the technical information from the coach. So yes we could give you drills to do at home - but it likely won't help without supervision. However more strength and flexibility will help.