Parents Getting Kicked out of Gym

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

My gymnast is almost 12 going into level 9, and has started crying in gym everyday and gets kicked out everyday? She does not know why she is crying and does not want to quit. The parent in me is frustrated I pay for her to be here and kicking her out is not solving it. As a former coach I understand her coach is frustrated and their is a safety issue, I also get the issue of what it looks like to rec kids and parents and the time and distraction it takes from the kids who want to be here. As a Mommy I overanalyze it and think my poor baby ( I Never
Vocalize This) I do not know what hat to wear so I try them all and nothing is working. We are going to cut back on hours and see if that helps. Any suggestions?

Thats awful, I'm guessing the no crying rule was put in place by a male coach? Crying is very normal and very healthy. She would only cry if she was truly passionate about what she was doing and really cares. If she didn't care she wouldn't get upset.

I think the reason for the crying was actually explained in your first sentence, where you said she is almost 12. I was exactly the same at that age and know of many kids who are also.

When kids are 11-12 they begin developing all the new hormones and can become very emotional, they will find themselves crying for very little reason and sometimes for no reason. Quite similar to what many women experience as a part of PMS.

Cutting back her hours won't make a difference.

I would suggest you talk to the coach, if possible to a female if she has a coach or a gym owner who is female and they will have a better understanding of this time. I am not saying male coaches can't be wonderfully understanding and supportive (many have wives and daughters and can understand these issue's well).