Parents GRRRRR!!!! OT the VET!!!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

So I've taken my dog to the same animal hospital for 7 years. My friend was a doc there and moved away last year. We have decided to stay overnight for Level 5 States this weekend so my sister can come. That leaves the problem of the dog (who is unable to let himself in and out of the house, feed himself or is trustworthy to be responsible and care for himself properly (silly, needy, labrador).

He was there in the summer for a broken canine (no pun intended). While he was there the vet (who I couldn't stand) gave him a crummy assessment (I'm a nurse, I assess people everyday and I know a crummy assessment when I see one) and gave him his shots that were due.

So today, I call 'cause he needs Kennel Cough and K9 influenze vaxes in order to board. They tell me he hasn't had an exam since 2009 'cause when I took him in the summer of 2010, that was a sick visit. So now, they want me to bring him in for an exam (and take more money from me) and then they'll give him the 2 shots.

My kid does gymnastics! I can't pay a full vet visit, boarding, vaxes, and Level 5 States in one weekend. I'm waiting for them to call me back 'cause the vet was in appointment.

I am maintaining that he was examined so they should just give him his darn shots. I think it is time to switch when he is do for his next annual... oh wait a minute, according to them he is LONG overdue! GRRRRR!!!

I am anti-vet right now too. My dog (also a crazy, co-dependent lab) had a molar pulled yesterday. They just try and soak you for every penny possible. $100 bloodwork, $50 fecal sample etc. She had the tooth pulled, teeth cleaned and a sealant put on a canine she broke a few years ago. $450!!!! I think I see a new career for my dd, she wants to be a pediatrician, but this seems more lucrative!